(591-2) 211-7133

Español English



Bolivia is situated in central South America, between 57o26 'and 69o38' longitude west of Greenwich and the parallels 9o38 'and 22o53' south latitude, comprising more than 13 geographic degrees. Its territorial extension is of 1,098,581 square kilometers.


To the north and east by Brazil, Argentina to the south, west to Peru, Paraguay to the southeast and southwest with Chile.


In the bolivian territory there are three dominant geographical zones:


Covers 28% of the country with an estimated area of 307,000 square kilometers. This zone is over 3,000 m.a.s.l. and is located between the eastern and western mountain ranges. Between them lies the Altiplano plateau and some of the highest peaks in America, in addition to Lake Titicaca, considered the highest in the world to be located at 3,810 meters, covers an area of 8.100 square kilometers and is navigable by deep draft vessels.


Intermediate region between the highlands and the eastern plains, covering 13% of the territory. It comprises the valleys and the Yungas (subtropical valley), with an average altitude of 2,500 meters, is characterized by agricultural activity and mild to warm climate (15 to 25 C.).

Llanos or Plains

It covers 59% of the territory, it is located north of the Eastern mountain range and it comprises the plains and extensive forests, rich in flora and fauna. It registers an average annual temperature of 22 to 25 oC.


The Andes in Bolivia divide in branches, from the north in the knot of Vilcanota or Apolobamba forming the Volcanic Western Cordillera and the Cordillera Real or Central. The Western Cordillera is divided into three sections: Lacustrine or North, Central and Southern or Volcanic.

The Cordillera Real is divided into six districts: Apolobamba, De Muñecas, Real or La Paz, Tres Cruces, Santa Vera Cruz and Cochabamba. The Central Cordillera comes from La Real to the northeast - southeast and consists of three strands: Northern or Cordillera de Azanaques, Central or Cordillera de Los Frailes and the South, which comprises the Cordilleras of Chichas and Lípez.


Bolivia has three hydrographic systems:
• The North Basin or Amazon
Constituted mainly by the rivers (east to west): Madre de Dios, Orthon, Abuná, Beni, Yata, Mamoré and Iténez or Guaporé.
• Central Basin or Lacustrine
Formed by the lakes Titicaca and Poopó, the Uyuni and Coipasa salt flats and the Desaguadero river.
• South Basin or De La Plata Basin
Mainly composed of the Paraguay, Pilcomayo and Bermejo rivers.


Millenarian Tourism & Travel
Ecolodge La Estancia
Hotel Gloria
Late Bolivia

Av. Arce Edif. Santa Isabel, Bloque C Mezanine 2, Of. 4 - La Paz. Bolivia